Manage Virtual Machines

SC//HyperCore™ HyperVisor software does all the work to make managing your VMs simple, quick, and effortless. Review the Appendix if you are unfamiliar with the VM icons or cues mentioned on this page.

  • The Admin role, or the task role for the action: VM Power Controls for power actions, VM Create & Edit or Backup to clone, and VM Delete to delete.

Manage a Single Virtual Machine

When a new SC//HyperCore VM is created, the VM is powered off by default, so the VM will need to be powered on before it is accessible on the system. Once a VM is powered on, there are three options:

Option Description
Shut Down Gracefully shuts down the VM OS and removes the running VM instance. Guest OS updates will attempt to run before the VM instance is removed.
Power Off Forcibly closes the VM’s guest OS and removes the running VM instance — similar to pulling the power cord on a physical machine.
Reboot Attempts to gracefully restart the VM OS without removing the running VM instance. Do not use reboot if maintenance is necessary at the hypervisor level.

Steps:

  1. Scroll to the VM card in the VM Management Panel.
  2. Click the Power icon.
  3. Select the desired action from the management view: Power On, Shut Down, Power Off, or Reboot.

Clone a Virtual Machine

A VM can be cloned at any time, whether it is powered on or off. The clone VM will be completely independent from the parent VM once it is created.

  1. Open the Summary or Snapshots and Replication screen on the VM card.
  2. Click the Clone VM icon. A popup dialog will appear, and the name and description fields will be automatically populated with a “-clone” suffix.
  3. Edit the Name or Description field as needed. The Name must be unique.
  4. Click Clone to save and create the clone VM.

Delete a Virtual Machine

VMs can only be deleted when the VM is powered off.

Any snapshots associated with the VM when it is deleted will be permanently removed as well. However, any exports, clones, or VMs restored from the VM’s snapshots will not be affected.

  1. Open the Summary screen on the VM card.
  2. Click the Delete VM icon, which opens a confirmation dialog.
  3. Click Delete VM to confirm the deletion. This is permanent — the VM, all associated data, and all associated snapshots will be deleted.

Manage All or Manage Filtered Virtual Machines

It is possible to apply a management task — power on, shut down, power off, reboot, snapshot, clone, delete — on all VMs or a group of filtered VMs. See the Filter Virtual Machines section for filtering options.

All VMs: Click the All VMs dropdown to the left of the filter box in the VM Management Panel bar.

Filtered VMs: Use the filter bar to search and identify the VMs you wish to manage. The All VMs dropdown becomes Filtered VMs when search terms are entered.

For both options:

  1. Select the desired management action: Power On, Shut Down, Power Off, Reboot, Snapshot, Clone, or Delete. A popup dialog will appear, and the number and name of all affected VMs is shown.
  2. Ensure the listed VMs are correct before proceeding.
  3. Click OK to proceed.

Please be aware that when applying management tasks to more than one VM, it is possible to select a contradictory action (e.g. choosing Power On when all filtered VMs are already powered on). In such an instance, the SC//HyperCore web interface will allow the action to be taken but no VMs will be affected.