SC//HyperCore™ HyperVisor software allows for role-based access management, which includes various levels of access and control along with session logging for each user. The current user’s session name can be seen in the upper right-hand corner of the web interface.
This page covers the built-in roles and what each one can do.
Creating or editing users needs the Admin role or a role with user management access.
User Role Access Overview
Each Role is detailed with their access, any exceptions or known issues, and any relevant warnings or notes. A reference chart is available in Appendix B: Role Reference Chart.
Opening a Remote Support tunnel is available at all times, regardless of the user’s role. This is due to the Remote Support option being available without requiring login credentials (Remote Support can be enabled from the SC//HyperCore web interface login prompt without signing in).
Admin
Complete access to all SC//HyperCore web interface tasks and tools, no exceptions.
Admin role permissions are equivalent to the access in pre-8.0 SC//HyperCore software versions. On initial upgrade to SC//HyperCore version 8.0, all existing users are converted to the Admin role, so after updating to version 8.0 you need to apply the proper roles for each user.
Read Only
- May interact with SC//HyperCore VMs through the web interface, with VM console view as determined by their local access credentials.
- May issue a CTRL+ALT+DEL command to a VM from the VM console view but CANNOT perform any other SC//HyperCore web interface actions.
Scale Computing recommends using auto-locking and/or auto-logout to ensure guest VM security. Any VM console left unlocked and/or unattended will be accessible to the Read Only role. By default some Linux distributions may reboot when issued a CTRL+ALT+DEL command; this setting can be changed as needed. Most Windows operating systems generally require a login to issue a power control like CTRL+ALT+DEL, but this may not be absolute.
Backup
- Clone a VM.
- Export and/or Import a VM.
- Create and/or Delete VM Snapshots.
- Create, Modify, and/or Delete Snapshot Schedules.
- Add or Pause Replication to a VM.
Users with the Backup role CANNOT alter a snapshot schedule to use on a VM. They can create, modify, and delete snapshot schedules (and schedule rules) through the Control Center, but cannot actually assign a schedule to a VM or alter an assigned schedule on a VM. An “Insufficient permission to edit a Virtual Machine” error will be displayed. The Admin or VM Create/Edit role is required to alter snapshot schedules on a VM.
Cloned and Imported VMs are not powered on by default, and the Admin or VM Power Controls roles are needed to power on a VM.
Cluster Settings
- Create and/or Modify all settings within the Control Center.
Exceptions: User Management tab and the Control tab (system/cluster shutdown tab).
VM Create & Edit
- Import VMs to the SC//HyperCore system.
- Create, Modify and/or Clone SC//HyperCore VMs.
- Create and/or Modify VM block devices (virtual disks and virtual CD trays).
- Clone VM block devices (clone and/or mount virtual disks on the VMs).
- Create and/or Modify VM network devices (virtual NICs and VLANs).
Exceptions: This role cannot delete VMs, block devices, or network devices, so the Admin or VM Delete role is needed for deletions.
SC//HyperCore VM Export is not included in this role, only import. Imported and Cloned VMs are not powered on by default. The Admin or VM Power Controls role is needed to power on a VM. This role allows a VM or VM virtual disk to be cloned and/or cloned and mounted from an existing snapshot, but does not allow the role to create or delete a snapshot. The Admin or Backup role is required for that.
VM Delete
- Delete VMs and their associated snapshots and devices. This includes VM Virtual Disk Live Delete.
This role ONLY gives access to delete existing VMs or VM devices. It does not grant any creation or modification rights. Individual VM virtual disks can be deleted while the VM is powered on, but VMs must be powered off to be deleted in their entirety. The Admin or VM Power Controls role would be needed to power off a VM.
VM Power Controls
- Start a VM.
- Shut down a VM.
- Power Off a VM.
- Live Migrate any running VMs.
This role ONLY gives access to power controls for existing VMs, so it does not grant any creation or deletion rights.
Cluster Shutdown
- The same as the VM Power Controls role above.
- Access to the Control tab of the Control Center in order to shut down the SC//HyperCore system (and any VMs as applicable).